Why New England is More than just the Land of Ice – With Photos to Prove it

 

WHEN IT COMES DOWN TO IT, IT’S PRETTY SIMPLE. ADVENTURE IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT. WHETHER IT’S THE TRAVEL, THE DISCOVERY OR JUST THE FEELING OF LETTING GO. THE ONLY WAY WE’LL EVER FIND OUT IS TO GET OUT THERE AND DO IT. ENJOY THE RIDE. – Travis Rice

 

I grew up in New England, so it is assumed that I grew up riding on icy mountains with little access to powder and big mountain backcountry conditions. However, I would like to personally debunk all of the stereotypes that snowboarding and skiing in New England sucks. Because it doesn’t! Don’t get me wrong, you definitely have your fair share of groomers and icy conditions out here, but it’s all what you make of it. Through my travels, I have been able to find my favorite spots in New England, and after seeing some of my pictures, hope you will try them out. I promise you won’t be disappointed. 

Jay Peak, Vermont

http://www.jaypeakresort.com

Commonly known for having the closest mountain conditions you will get to “out west”, Jay Peak offers an insane amount of tree trails that are packed with powder. Although on-trail conditions are fun, too, you really get a taste of Jay Peak when you venture off-trail into the woods. Because it’s about a four hour drive from Boston, where you are only a few miles away from Canada, I suggest that you book a room or a condo overnight, so you can get a full day in and not be exhausted after the ride. Being able to relax after a day of glade skiing (because, trust me, your legs will be burning,) is the best thing ever. They also have an indoor water park, yes, you heard me right, at the base of the mountain. The water park includes slides, a lazy river, a large tropical bar, and outdoor hot tubs. Make it a trip with friends, you won’t regret it. If that didn’t persuade you, here are some photo’s from my experiences at Jay Peak: 

Image

Our slope-side condo offered us a chance to wake up for the first chair at 8AM to 6 inches of fresh snow.

Image

I took this picture of my friend Jon, where we were entering glades for first tracks at Jay Peak. Shown on my Instagram: @cassachusetts

Image

IT’S SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIIEEEE! More on my instagram @cassachusetts

Image

It can be a little chilly – but look at that snow forecast!

Image

Not only can you find awesome snow in the trees, it is also beautiful. A friend snapped a photo of me to prove it. More on my Instagram @cassachusetts.

Image

IT’S SO FLUFFYYYY (tree trails round 2).

Image

If the mountain wasn’t beautiful enough, this is the Jay Peak sunset I captured on the way home. More on my instagram @cassachusetts

 

 

Cannon Mountain, New Hampshire

http://www.cannonmt.com

The best way I can describe Cannon is that it’s a mountain that gives a small town feel but delivers huge mountain conditions. It doesn’t have a huge lodge, a water park, hot tubs, or a bunch of apres (after-skiing) bars, but it focuses on what’s important: the skiing. My friends and I were lucky enough to be guided around Cannon backcountry by the Blizzard/Technica representative. The best conditions and fluffy snow can be found on Mittersill, found on the trail map to the right, where you see the yellow dots:

 

Image

Photo courtesy of cannonmt.com

To get to this, you have to use the access trail which you can get to by using the trail “Taft Slalom.” To view this trail and a closer look of all the trails go here: http://www.cannonmt.com/map.pdf. Some advice that I have is to always have two people with you while accessing these trails. It can get confusing, and you don’t want to get lost while you are by yourself. It helps to have someone who knows where they are going when you are on these trails because they can give you a way out of the trees. Our guide helped us tremendously while venturing through these trails. If you don’t have someone who knows the mountain well, ask around. This mountain is packed with locals who have been skiing there all their lives, and I’m sure they’d be happy to give you some direction. Here are some photos I have taken while at Cannon. I hope you’ll try this amazing mountain! 

Image

Straight ahead it the access trail to Mittersill. Get as much speed as you can, because you have to hike a little bit.

 

Image

This is what you’ll see once you’ve hiked to Mittersill. On the top left is the main Tram on Cannon.

 

Image

We got a little lost in the woods. We didn’t mind exploring in all that fluffy snow, though.

 

 

 

Loon Mountain, New Hampshire

https://www.loonmtn.com

I love Loon because of its variety of trails. You never feel like you are riding on the same trail once, and that’s awesome. It’s fast gondola ensures a smooth ride up the mountain. I also love that its such an easy ride from Boston – only about 2 and a half hours. When you’re almost there, you will get a scenic view of The Notch. Loon offers a mid-mountain lodge that serves food and drinks, with a great view of people skiing and the surrounding mountains. They also have a variety of parks that invite riders of all levels to learn, improve, and master jumps and rails of all sizes. If you’re looking for a good time, check it out. Here are some photos I’ve taken at Loon: 

Image

Did I mention they have gnarly glades?

Image

Venture off-trail to find the best fluffy snow.

Image

(I’m cropped out of this) But it was a great time with the crew at the mid-mountain lodge!

 

Image

Or relax in the sun outside of the base lodge!

Image

Ask the locals to lead you to Ewok Village – a tree house in the woods of Loon.

Image

You might find the guys from Burton Snowboards there, and they might let you drive their van, too.

 

Image

Last but not least – always ride with a crew 🙂 (me in the red jacket with the rest of my co-workers)

 

Killington, Vermont

http://www.killington.com

Killington is where I learned how to snowboard when I was 9 years old, so I will always have an emotional connection to this mountain (although, the first few times trying to snowboard was kind of traumatizing.) Killington offers some pretty challenging terrain, anywhere from tight glades to long and winding leg burners. Like Loon, Killington offers extreme variety, where you never feel like you are riding the same trail twice. They also have Yurts around the mountain where you can grab a beer or a snack. When the weather warms up a little, they open up the walls and it becomes a deck bar. In the morning, a MUST GO is the pancake house breakfast. They have omelettes with apples in them, and local Vermont maple syrup. On the way home, check out the Long Trail Brewery. You can tour where they brew the beer and the food is aweeeesome.

Image

Friends and I chased the storm to Killington and this was the result.

Image

Killington is also a great place for selfies.

I hope you’ll take my word for it and check out all of these amazing places!

Until next time…

Cassie

 

 

Leave a Reply

