Chasing Powder and Fear in Vancouver

It’s always nice to hear the reaction from people after skiing for the first time – this one especially! The story is also paired with some great photos. Check it out!

Just-In-Time Travels

I never had the chance to go skiing when I was little since neither my parents nor close friends were skiers. Once my elementary school organized a ski trip but that was my entire encounter with any type of alpine sports. Despite growing up 2 hrs outside of Whistler and being local to another handful of beautiful mountains, I never learned how to ski.

This season, I decided to take up a lesson at Mount Seymour, followed by a ski trip with friends to Grouse Mountain, when I was in Vancouver. My initial excitement quickly sizzled into anxiety on the day before my ski lesson. I recalled stories of family friends and co-workers who had broken wrists and legs while skiing or snowboarding, and I almost let myself listen to my snow-fearing parents try to talk me out of going all together. I thought I would definitely breakā€¦

View original post 191 more words

Leave a Reply

